20 Replies Latest reply on Mar 26, 2016 4:00 AM by Frans van der Geest (ACP)

Indesign PDF export wrong colour

abdullahseba

Hi

I'm new to Indesign and I just tried to export a leaflet as a PDF using the default settings.

Indesign displays some of the colours the wrong way and so does the PDF.

Anyone know what is going on?

Here is some screenshots and the colour it should be.

Thanks in advance.

The right tone of blue:

v12 Small.png

Indesign:

Image 001.png

PDF:

Image 002.png

• 1. Re: Indesign PDF export wrong colour
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

What settings did you use for the PDF export, and Waht are you using to view it? What is that color? RGB? CMYK? Spot?

Looks like there's some transparency in that arch. Is there supposed to be? What is the transparency blend space?

Have you viewed the file in ID with Overprint Preview turned on?

• 2. Re: Indesign PDF export wrong colour
            Frans van der Geest (ACP) Adobe Community Professional

I am afraid you have to learn something about colour and colour management (RGB, CMYK, Transparency blend mode, Spot vs Process, export using icc profiles) to understand what is going on. InDesign is not a simple editor like Word...

Most likely your saturated blue is RGB going to CMYK here. (Although a logo like this could be Spot).

• 3. Re: Indesign PDF export wrong colour
              abdullahseba Level 1

Thanks, I left the default PDF settings from the PDF high quality print option.

Indesign is set to the default settings apart from touch mode and I think it uses CMYK.

The arch was made transparent in Indesign using the gradient feather tool and the colour chosen with the built in colour picker.

Does this mean if I change the settings to RGB the problem would we solved?

I don't know what overprint is.

I'm using Microsoft edge to view it and Word displays it the same.

I don't have adobe acrobat as its too slow.

• 4. Re: Indesign PDF export wrong colour