11 Replies Latest reply on Mar 28, 2016 2:20 PM by trshaner

I know there isn't multi-user option in LR world, but how can I have an editor work for me?

Joe Dolen

I'm sure this has been answered a million times, I just can't seem to find it anywhere.  I live on the east coast, my editor is going to live on the west coast.  What's the best way for her work on my images?  I'm a wedding photographer and each event there are about 3,000 or so images to cull through and then edit.  Sending hard drives back and forth isn't an option.  I use LR 5.7, she uses LR cc.  I'll happily upgrade or move to creative cloud if I have to, but I can't share a license with her because I use 2-3 computers in studio and show clients their photos in LR.  I can't have mine stop working if she logs on.  What do you guys suggest?  Why hasn't Adobe figured this out yet??  Any help would be greatly appreciated!

• 1. Re: I know there isn't multi-user option in LR world, but how can I have an editor work for me?
          trshaner Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The simplest way to do this is "share" a LR catalog file created for each specific customer or customer event that is uploaded to online storage. The primary issue is that only one-person-at-a-time can edit the image files. The other user (you) can still view the images, but that is all you can do! If this is not acceptable due to the need to "work" simultaneously on the same image files then LR will not work for you. If that is acceptable then we can discuss further what needs to be done.

• 2. Re: I know there isn't multi-user option in LR world, but how can I have an editor work for me?
            Joe Dolen Level 1

One person editing at a time is acceptable to me.  Thanks for answering.  What would need to be done?

• 3. Re: I know there isn't multi-user option in LR world, but how can I have an editor work for me?