3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 29, 2016 9:32 AM by adamneer

Mask path animation help?

abhinav4848

Beginner here. So I have a mask applied on an adjustment layer and want to move the mask as well as its shape throughout the video. Keyframed it. Not a prob. But the difficulty is that when I try to select it to move it around, I end up changing its shape or when I want to change its shape, I end up moving it. Or worse, the whole mask gets selected in a way that (a white box appears around the mask with 8 anchor points] if I move that, the (non keyframed) transform position property starts changing (instead of mask path) which in turn throws my entire mask path off the track. So far, it's only been random chance to get it right but I'd like to make sure shot decisions and not rely on luck here. What am I missing out?
      Thankyou.

Basically, I cannot decide how when the selection icon (becomes black) will move the mask or change its shape.

• 1. Re: Mask path animation help?
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

This is an ages old limitation of AE's masks. Clicking on the content of the mask or inbetween anchor points will select the entire mask, clicking on the anchor points modifies the shape. unfortunately all of this only makes some sense when the mask is deselected, so users have to use a ton of extra clicks and fly blind. You're really not necessarily doing anything wrong, it's just so clunky.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Mask path animation help?
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP