1 Reply Latest reply on Mar 28, 2016 2:26 PM by robgendreau

Beginner advice

roberth94304522rhau

I am a professional jewelry designer with 30,000 + images in a file tree on a PC based DiskStation.  The file tree is complex but I still have a hard time finding specific images or groups of images.  And I have one copy of each image in the tree.  I am very reluctant to create multiple copies filed different places, even though that would make it easier to find a particular image.

It is time to move to a program that allows me to assign tags, keeps track of meta data etc.  I have a copy of Photos Shop Express 3 and Lightroom 9.  PSE3 has all the photo editing capability I need.  I found Lightroom complex and never started using it.

My jewelry images are all taken with a digital SLR.  My personal images are all taken with an iPhone (actually 2 iPhones)

Ultimately I would like to be able to use my iPad as a showroom tool to show customers well organized albums but also be able to search for a specific image from my entire collection. 

My jewelry design is all done in CAD now and I am seriously overdosed in technology. 

It is time for better management but it has to be as simple and dependable as possible.

Do I stay with a stand alone copy of the latest PSE and use the organization there?

Do I get the latest stand alone Lightroom?

Do I go with a Creative Cloud subscription to make the PC/iPad/iPhone integration simple...and is it simple?

Editing is definately my second priority.  As I said PSE 3 has been sufficent.  If I solve the editing part with one of the choices, what do I do for editing.

• 1. Re: Beginner advice
          robgendreau Level 3

Cut to the chase and use Lr. I wouldn't bother with Elements. Lr is made for an organizational task such as yours. And Lr Mobile could work very well to showcase stuff on the iPad.