2 Replies Latest reply on Feb 23, 2009 3:49 AM by srn098

AIR - Transactional Offline/Online applcation

srn098 Level 1
      Hello,

I'm very new to AIR. I'm very interested in learning it. I would like to ask one question before learning.

Is it possible to use AIR to develop Offline/Online application? What I mean by Offline/Online application is that the application work on offline when the network is down. If the network is available then it will automatically re-connect with online services and will sync the offline data to the online services.

Here is one scenario.

Let's say I have a small application called "Student Registration Management" system. I have StudentRegistration.UI (AIR)project and StudentRegistrationService Web Service project. StudentRegistration.UI project is working fine as long as we have the network connection. But the problem is that our network connection is not so stable. sometimes, it used to disconnect for half-day and etc . So, we are considering to make our project work Offline.

In order to do that, we are thinking to add another layer that can switch the proxy class and offline class that can access to the local database.

For example:

StudentRegistration.UI --> [detect the connection] -> [if online] call Proxy to invoke the webservice.
      -> [if offline] call another class that can connect to the local database which is located under "My Document" or "somewhere"

Questions:

Q1. Do you think this is the correct approach??

Q2. Is it possible to connect the MS access database or mdf from AIR directly? (Note: This MS Access Database or mdf will be located under under "My Document" or "somewhere" ) If yes, how can I do that? Do I have to use the "inline" SQL statement too?