3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 1, 2016 10:17 AM by Rick Gerard

After Effects not rendering

jonathanc37658232

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to After Effects and at the moment all I'm trying to do is rotate an Illustrator file in 3D space (by creating shapes from vectors), which I've seem to accomplish fairly simply.

My issue is when it comes to rendering the composition. Each time I add the comp to the render que not much happens, it starts to render and the file is created, but as the render doesn't finish the file size is 0kb....

Here are a few screen shots of my settings, any help would be much appreciated as I can't find a fix anywhere.

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 12.40.32.pngScreen Shot 2016-04-01 at 12.40.01.pngScreen Shot 2016-04-01 at 12.40.16.png

Thanks,

P.S. I've recently changed the CPU allocation to 3GB and still have had no luck

• 1. Re: After Effects not rendering
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

What version of AE are you using (down to the last decimal point of the version number)?

Are you using the ray-traced renderer or the standard renderer?

You don't really have enough RAM to use multiprocessing. I'd recommend turning that off. However, if you want to try using it, reserve at least one CPU for other applications (putting that at 0 is a bad idea) and allocate at least 2 GB of RAM per background CPU.

• 2. Re: After Effects not rendering
            Dave LaRonde Level 6

I see that your comp is 1080x1080 with a 1.33 pixel aspect ratio.  That is a VERY odd size.

You may not be able to render to some media containers and codecs because your comp is a non-standard size.

What are you trying to do?  What is the application that will next use your rendered file? 

• 3. Re: After Effects not rendering
              Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP