28 Replies Latest reply on Dec 4, 2016 5:25 AM by Gutter-Fish

Particles taking too long to render

mjshea

My computer:

Dell XPS laptop running Windows 10

Intel Core i7 2670QM processor, 2.2GHz

8GB RAM

Nvidia GeForce 555M GPU

I'm trying to render an AE project that is basically all particles using Particular. I have a null object with keyframes and I used expressions to trigger particle generation on those keyframes. I have probably 30 or 40 particle layers and most of them are generating particles more or less constantly. I tried to do a test render at half res (540p with full res at 1080p) for a 4 min project. It's been rendering for about 30 hours and estimated time remaining is at 150 hours. This seems a little excessive to me, but I have never worked with particles before. Is there anything I can do to cut down this render time? I have six of these videos and at this rate it will take months to render all of them in full quality, and that's just not going to fly.

• 1. Re: Particles taking too long to render
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Render times for particle systems go up exponentially. There's no way around it except redesign and more creative use of the system.

Try and simplify your design and think about generating separate particle streams that you can render and combine later. Whenever I use particular I try to limit the instances to three or four. With the right settings you can do an awful lot with three or four streams. I would never plan a project with 40 instances of particular in a single comp.