13 Replies Latest reply on May 5, 2017 2:19 AM by GJ du Toit

InDesign applies bold to imported Word file

MadMac01 Level 1

I am a pretty good expert at importing and maintaining linked Microsoft Word Files, but this current combination of Indesign CC and Microsoft Word just cannot seem to communicate properly. Whenever I import a Word file with a "Bold" character styling applied, the content comes in bold-formatted up to the first instance. Why? How can I fix this?

Here are all the things I tried in Microsoft Word:

1. Made sure that no Word style was based on anything else (paragraph styles—no style, character style—underlying structure).
      2. Deleted every Word style from document except mapping styles and those I could not delete.
      3. Started again in a blank Word document with only necessary styles.
      4. Removed formatting from entire document.
      5. Started again from blank Word document as above but only with the words "This is a test" in Normal paragraph style with no character styling.
      6. Saved as earlier Word (.doc) version

Here is what happens in InDesign:

1. My cursor is in the text frame, with the Normal paragraph style applied, and Character Styles set to "None".
      2. Place Word File (w/ options)
      3. I have set up an import Preset with these options:
        • Includes and typographer's quotes unchecked
        • Preserve formatting selected (preserved page breaks, all other import and conversion options unchecked)
        • Import Styles automatically (Default to InDesign styles)
      4. When I import the DOCX file, all content is bold and bullet styles are over-ridden. When I clear paragraph overrides, the Bold character style is still applied to all text up to the point where the first instance of "Bold" is applied in the Word Doc(x).