19 Replies Latest reply on Apr 13, 2016 4:07 PM by ECBowen

I need to Upgrade my Computer by step by step

fernandob50529930

I'm into Photography and now I start using adobe premiere pro but my old computer is lagging too much (with lightroom works okey and photoshop but with premiere pro NO)

My specification

Motherboard: ASUS Rampage III Formula

RAM: Corsair DDR3 1333MHz 14GB

Processor: Intel Core i7-960 Processor 3.20 GHz 8 MB Cache

Storage: Samsung 850 EVO 250GB

Graphics Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 260 Core 216 896MB DDR3

Using premiere pro with just images works fine but know im importing 4k 30 fps videos and there is my problem. I understand the computer i have is below the adobe specifications thats why im going to start upgrading.

For now i will like to fix the lag im having on the playback sequence.

If I upgrade the graphic card can i fix the lag ?

I don't want to upgrade the entire computer right now, I just want to fix that lag for now. Im not a professional photographer and nothing like that, is just a hobby i have so i think I dont need a kick *** computer, maybe in the future, not now.

Thanks you very much.

• 1. Re: I need to Upgrade my Computer by step by step
          Kevin-Monahan Adobe Employee

Hi Fernando,

Moving to the Hardware forum.

Thanks,
          Kevin

• 2. Re: I need to Upgrade my Computer by step by step
            Jim_Simon Level 8

I think your best bet might be to invest in storage.  Converting your media to Cineform, you will see a marked improvement in the editing performance.  However, those files aren't small.  You'll need a very large, very fast hard drive to store them on.

• 3. Re: I need to Upgrade my Computer by step by step
              ECBowen Most Valuable Participant