5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 8, 2017 8:00 AM by dj_paige

catalog does not show photos in containing folder of folders

judy04

I have a folder called "Photos" and many sub folders or images contained in it.   Each of the subfolders shows the correct number of images in it (correct as these are there on disk as shown in the Explorer window).  BUT the containing folder "Photos" shows only 50 or so of the thousands that it should show.   This means that you can't select "Photos" in the library and then search for a keyword.   I am *totally* perplexed.

Running Windows 7 and Lightroom 5.7.    (Parenthetically I have a CC subscription, but have been told that if at some point I stop my subscription, the new catalog can't be read by an older version of LR.   So all my classifications and edits using Lightroom CC would be lost.)

• 1. Re: catalog does not show photos in containing folder of folders
          Bob Somrak Level 5

Click the Plus sign next to Folders and choose Show Photos in Subfolders.

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 9.25.02 AM.png

• 2. Re: catalog does not show photos in containing folder of folders
            dj_paige Level 9

judy04 wrote:

(Parenthetically I have a CC subscription, but have been told that if at some point I stop my subscription, the new catalog can't be read by an older version of LR.   So all my classifications and edits using Lightroom CC would be lost.)

If you stop your LR CC subscription, all of the information in the catalog can still be read and used by LR CC, so you can search for photos using metadata and export your edited photos. The only thing that stops working is the Develop Module and Map Module.

• 3. Re: catalog does not show photos in containing folder of folders
              judy04 Level 1

I had thought Lightroom itself disappeared (like photoshop if you stop).  No?   Very interesting.

• 4. Re: catalog does not show photos in containing folder of folders
                xodin49