11 Replies Latest reply on Jul 12, 2017 9:30 AM by AnneMarie Concepcion

Sharing typekit fonts

MrMcQuillen

I am guessing the answer to this question may be a simple "too bad," but I wanted to ask and get a clear answer. I am a graphic designer and I like using Typekit fonts for my projects, but the issue is this:

We produce magazines and usually package the native files to send to the printers. Sometimes there might be a minor adjustment that the printer needs to make, such as a misspelled word or something to the body text. Note that if we were to outline the fonts they would not be able to edit the text and it would negate the idea of sending them the native files. Only one of our printers has Typekit access, so it creates an issue with any printer that doesn't have that as we are not able to package the fonts for them. Normally, with any font installed on the computer, it isn't a problem. Now, I know there are licensing laws preventing the sharing of fonts, but it is my understanding that there is some leeway when sharing with a party such as a printer for the purpose I am proposing in this scenario. My question is:

Is there some way to share fonts from Typekit with printers that don't have access? Is Adobe working on something on the horizon that will address this issue of sharing fonts, assuming that it is within legal reason? Or is it just a matter of everyone eventually getting on the Adobe CC train, which I'm hoping they will, but for now some printers don't seem to have a need for it and I am stuck not being able to use Typekit fonts. Any info would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

• 2. Re: Sharing typekit fonts
          Steve Werner Adobe Community Professional & MVP

"Is there some way to share fonts from Typekit with printers that don't have access?"