14 Replies Latest reply on Apr 10, 2016 5:55 AM by Just Shoot Me

Images on NAS -catalog and previews on Flash drive

roberth94304522rhau

I am new to Lightroom and have at least 50,000  images in a complex Windows file tree on a NAS at work -the root folder is IMAGES and there are 2000 subfolders.  I have a copy of that complete file tree that I will keep as a backup while I make the move to Lightroom.  My plan is to keep my images on my NAS at work and keep the Lightroom catalog and previews on a fast Hyper X USB 3 flash drive. .  Goal is to work at home where the work NAS is a mapped drive over a  VPN.   NAS and Flashdrive will both have static paths.  I don't have time at work to devote to getting things on Lightroom. And I can't move the NAS.

The majority of work I need to do now is just getting the images imported and organized.  I plan to import and move folders one at a time from IMAGES to IMAGES-LR keeping the same file tree structure.  I can add a few keywords to the images in each folder just based on the file tree structure. Once everything is in Lightroom I plan to simplify and combine folders since I will no longer need a complex filing system to find images.

1-Anybody have any experience, cautions, advice?

2-How do I set up Lightroom so the catalog is on the Flash drive?

3-Can I start with the catalog in the default location on my home computer and then move it to the flashdrive?

• 1. Re: Images on NAS -catalog and previews on Flash drive
          dj_paige Level 9

keep the Lightroom catalog and previews on a fast Hyper X USB 3 flash drive.

Catalogs cannot go on USB 3 drives. They must be on an internal or external drive, either traditional hard disk or SSD.

• 2. Re: Images on NAS -catalog and previews on Flash drive
            roberth94304522rhau Level 1

I based my plan on an a reply from Jao vdL to an earlier more general question.. 

Can someone confirm the answer from dj_paige?  Or Jao vdl?