6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 22, 2017 8:41 PM by songseunghun

Highest quality PDF export preset? "Press Quality"?

jasonl26483179 Level 1

What is the highest quality preset to use when exporting to pdf before sending to a printer?

High Quality Print or Press Quality? PDF/X-4: 2008?

Sorry..I'm a noob! Thanks!

• 1. Re: Highest quality PDF export preset? "Press Quality"?
          Derek Cross Level 6

You should normally get a spec from your printer. If that's not available I'd choose the latter.

• 2. Re: Highest quality PDF export preset? "Press Quality"?
            rob day Adobe Community Professional & MVP

PDF/X-4: 2008 is the most flexible.

With X-4 you can choose to export all color unchanged but with the needed profiles to make the correct conversions at output, which is the default. In that case you could have all of the color be RGB and let the printer choose the final CMYK profile at output. Or if the printer is asking for all CMYK you can simply assign the printer's recommended CMYK profile to your document and when you export set the Destination in the Output tab to Document CMYK and all the conversions will be made during the export.

PDF/X presets also include an Output Intent profile, which alerts the printer to what the expected press profile is—neither High or Press quality presets include an Output Intent.

• 3. Re: Highest quality PDF export preset? "Press Quality"?
              jasonl26483179 Level 1

Yikes....so I just tried PDF/X-4: 2008 and I got a red "Failed to export the PDF file" message

And High Quality Print also just gave me the same message. Right now, I'm only having luck with Press Quality....converted to PDF successfully.

A quick Google searches brought up some mentions of image scaling/downsampling...do you guys know about this? Is this a common problem?

THANKS!!

Btw..this is a great forum. I participate in many others, but the activity & knowledge here is exceptional!