2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 11, 2016 9:22 PM by JFPhoton

Which RAID setup is right for me? Will it make Premiere faster?

jfinnmedia

I've been trying to sift through the ridiculous amount of seemingly ever changing info on RAID drives and I'd love a little guidance. Here's some background: I am a wedding filmmaker and shoot some commercial ads as well. This is my second year in business and I'm looking to get more serious about storage. I shoot with the A7SII so I'm dealing with 100mb/s XAVC S 4K files. When editing in Premiere, playback becomes a little bit choppy, especially if I have a few quick cuts in a row. Here are my computer specs:

2013 27-inch iMac

3.5 GHz Intel Core i7

32gb RAM

GeForce GTX 780M

3TB Fusion Drive

OSX 10.11 El Capitan

Latest Version of Premiere Pro CC 2015

I have CUDA turned on and my CUDA driver is the latest version

I even have playback quality on 1/4 and it still gets choppy

This is my current workflow:

Transfer footage to 3TB Fusion Drive

Copy footage to backup external drive (Seagate 2TB, USB 2.0 I believe)

I have been editing from the footage that's stored on my computer on the fusion drive. I'm thinking this is the weak link of my setup but I'm not sure. I've read that it's much better to let your computer's hard drive take care of running the programs etc. and use a fast external drive to read footage.

Here's my plan:

Buy a 4TB Lacie rugged RAID thunderbolt drive (set up as RAID 0) to store footage that I'm using to edit/project files etc.

Let my computer HD stay footage free so it can focus on running programs

Buy a WD 8TB My Book Thunderbolt RAID drive for backups (set up as RAID 1)

Continue to use my 2TB Seagate for another set of backups (maybe keep offsite?)

Questions:

Would this be a good workflow/setup for my purpose?

What is the weak link of my setup?

Would using a portable RAID 0 drive like this improve speed and help my timelines play smoothly?

Is RAID 0 overkill for my setup?