7 Replies Latest reply on May 3, 2006 8:41 AM by Mazuho

Exporting data from 3dsMax file

Mazuho
      This is a kind of side problem I have to deal with before I can contiune with what I have going in my previous thread.

I've been reading around and I have realized that for AI pathfinding I'm going to go with setting up nodes (dummies in my 3dscene) for the AI to use. So I understand I need to export the information concerning the nodes from 3dsmax and then store that in a text member in Director? Well... how do I do that?
      Thanks
        • 1. Re: Exporting data from 3dsMax file
          Level 7
          You can write a custom MAXScript in order to read the dummies transforms and
          output them to a XML file.

• 2. Re: Exporting data from 3dsMax file
            Mazuho Level 1
            I can't help but see this as a very daunting task. Is this the only way? It wouldn't be possible to do it director? I have no experience at all with maxscrpting... What I'm thinking is to store all the transforms necessary in a text cast member only once, and deactivate the script afterwards. Am I missing something completely here?
            • 3. Re: Exporting data from 3dsMax file
              Level 7
              Yes, you could just do it in Director. You could export your w3d with only
              the nodes in it, then import that into Director. Create a script that grabs
              the transform info from each of your nodes and stick that into a text
              member.

--
              Dave -
              Adobe Community Expert
              www.blurredistinction.com
              www.macromedia.com/support/forums/team_macromedia/

• 4. Re: Exporting data from 3dsMax file
                PpHammer Level 1
                Why would you want to use dummies in the first place?