6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 14, 2016 5:28 PM by photofan731

'Save AS' jpeg from photoshop cc back to lightroom

photofan731 Level 1

HI

I have Mac OSX El Capitan 10.11.3 and photoshop/ lightroom cc (2015.4 camera raw 9.4)

As a newbie, I am having trouble saving a jpeg from photoshop back into lightroom - I can 'save as' a tiff and it goes straight back to lightroom but not a jpeg

I found the jpeg in a folder on my hard drive  instead of going into lightroom

Any ideas ?

• 1. Re: 'Save AS' jpeg from photoshop cc back to lightroom
          Alfred Pennyworth Level 4

When saving after editing in PS from LR you should save and not save as as this will causes the problem you mention, also make sure the stack with original is checked in the edit dialog prior to export to PS.

• 2. Re: 'Save AS' jpeg from photoshop cc back to lightroom
            Just Shoot Me Adobe Community Professional

The only way to do that is to change the file format in the LR External Editor section of the preferences. That is what controls the file type, format, of the file you send to PS when you Save it in PS.

Using the Save As option to save a file sent to PS from LR to any other file format than what is specified in the External Editor section will always cause the file not to be added to the LR catalog.

• 3. Re: 'Save AS' jpeg from photoshop cc back to lightroom
              ssprengel Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Is your master photo in LR, before invoking Edit In PS, a raw file or the JPG that you're wanting to save over the top of when you save from Photoshop?

Master photos need to remain untouched so if you're starting with a JPG and using Edit In PS then you shouldn't be saving over the top of that JPG. 

• 4. Re: 'Save AS' jpeg from photoshop cc back to lightroom
                JimHess Adobe Community Professional & MVP