3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 12, 2016 2:19 PM by oksamurai

Ok So far So good but one beef which I hope is fixed in the future.

roccob46811617

First off I am just a home user who decided to try to learn CC so I could help out our local Jr A Hockey Club so I am by no means a professional.  Now I have been playing with Character animator a little and can see some possibilities with using this.  Learning curve is far less than that of rigging scripts and such but the one issue I have with this is being unable to import my real footage so I can perfect the movements while I can animate my character.  It is frustrating having to guesstimate the positions on screen my character needs to look or react when that footage isn't there.  Now I am sure there might be some workarounds... Just thought of some things I might try but not sure if they will work due to scaling etc... 

Does importing screen caps of your footage so lining up critical movements work (won't do much for timing but a temp sound file would solve that issue)?

What workarounds have you in the community come up with?

I am thinking it would be nice to have it work inside premiere and after effects in the future.  This way one can alter while in a real scene.  Also I think, while the performance based aspects are great you are missing out on the power of key frames and they should not be ignored.  Perhaps in the future Premiere and After Effects can get a whole set of performance based tools and effects with a merger of Character Animator, though I am not sure what they would be...

Anyway I thought I would share my impressions so far.

• 1. Re: Ok So far So good but one beef which I hope is fixed in the future.
          oksamurai Employee Moderator

Thanks for the feedback! We hear the "make this easier to use with After Effects and Premiere" sentiment a lot, and I completely agree. We will have better workflows for this in the future.