2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 22, 2016 4:05 PM by selondon

How to upload Lr photos to a cloud backup service - general principles?

archontic Level 1

Hello everyone

I have decided that the cloud is the way to go for my digital assets.

I have a quantity of photographs not in iPhoto (I actually have none in iPhoto) but on my hard drive plus Lr catalogue - what do people do when they want to automatically upload their photos to Apple's own iCloud for example (I have a relatively small number of photos approx 5000)? Do I need to upload a Ircat file as well.  Do I need extra Adobe or Apple software to do this and what does anyone recommend? I am a novice user to Lr and cloud services.

Or shall I use another Cloud service and can anyone recommend a good one to access photos from the cloud on my iPhone 6S and/or iPad Air2 as I don't want to use these devices to store my photos locally.

Any recommendations for a cloud service £10/month?

Many thanks

David Perkins

Brighton

• 1. Re: How to upload Lr photos to a cloud backup service - general principles?
          dj_paige Level 9

I use Carbonite as my cloud backup. You tell Carbonite to copy the desired files, it does the rest.

In general, you want your backups to have the exact same folder structure and file names as your originals. This implies that after you import the photos into Lightroom and if desired some initial renaming, that you leave the originals in that exact same folder structure and have the same file names as well.

You should allow the built-in Lightroom backup to run on a periodic basis (every day or every week). You should check the box to have the backup check the integrity of the catalog. You should then have your cloud backups service copy these backup catalogs made by Lightroom.

can anyone recommend a good one to access photos from the cloud on my iPhone 6S and/or iPad Air2