7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 16, 2016 2:14 PM by SheckyL

Longtime Mac Editor Looking for Advice on PC Build for APP/AE/PS

SheckyL

Hi, I am a longtime Mac editor unhappy with Apple's Pro offerings and looking to buy a Windows PC as my next workstation. I am running an upgraded 2010 Mac Pro but it is very sluggish with the 4K footage I am getting more and more of.

Work Mix:

• 60% Cuts and dissolves editing (with more and more 4k timelines)
      • 15% AE: Motion graphics, effects, roto, 3D tracking/compositing
      • 15% Color correction and other online stuff
      • 8% Compressing high res final files
      • 2% 3D

I've learned a little, but theres still a ton I don't know. Here's some questions

1. Is the Asus X99 mobo the best platform for a med-high end workstation?
      2. i7 Haswell or Xeon?
      3. To EEC or not to EEC?
      4. Are the high end workstation video cards like the FirePro or Quadro M worth the extra money?
      5. nVidia or ATI?
      6. Will dual cards make a big difference?
      7. Rate in order or importance for performance:
        • single-core speed,
        • number of cores,
        • video card speed/cores/multiple-cards
      8. I have a lot of apps running at once. Is 128 GB RAM overkill?
      9. I'm not going to build it myself, and was looking at Puget Systems to do it. Any thoughts on them?
      10. Windows 10 Pro my best choice?

Looking to spend under $5500 before tax/ship

Thanks for looking at this.

• 1. Re: Longtime Mac Editor Looking for Advice on PC Build for APP/AE/PS
          JEShort01 Level 4

First, as you joined the forum today, welcome!

Here goes...

1. yes

2. i7

3. I'd vote no ECC for a system for your goals (this subject seems to get a lot of passionate disagreement, but so long as RAM compatibility is correct, either works fine)

4. no; to run Adobe on PCs (CC 2015), NVidia GTX cards are the best route to go at all price points

5. nVidia

6. Not at your price point