1 Reply Latest reply on Apr 19, 2016 12:23 PM by johnrellis

Mapping of metadata fields during the Lightroom import process

JeffKlahorst

Does anyone know what metadata fields Adobe uses when reading jpg's in a Windows (2000, XP, 7) environment? I have tried many different variations of the title, caption(subject), comments and other fields. It appears that the fields are inter-dependent. If one is missing, then the same field might be used to fill two or more other fields. Has Adobe published a mapping and/or logic flow for the transferring of the metadata fields when importing? Yes, I understand that Microsoft has broken every known standard in this area, but I have been using the "Windows Explorer" program for 20 years to populate the metadata fields in my image files. Now I am importing a lifetime of photos into Lightroom for better management.

• 1. Re: Mapping of metadata fields during the Lightroom import process
          johnrellis Most Valuable Participant

There are two separable issues: How Lightroom reads metadata fields from photos, and how Windows Explorer writes metadata fields.  Unfortunately, I don't think there is a single authoritative document describing either issue.  The industry has made a legacy mess of metadata, and very few programs attempt to do a high-quality job.

Lightroom does a reasonable job of following the industry standard published by the Metadata Working Group.  That standard unifies the three main mechanisms in which metadata is stored in JPEGs and other file formats: EXIF, IPTC, and XMP.    Many fields have defined slots in each of those three mechanisms.  For example, the capture time can be stored in EXIF:DateTimeOriginal, IPTC:DateCreated and IPTC:TimeCreated, and in XMP:DateCreated.  The MWG standard specifies how applications should read and write those multiple fields.