15 Replies Latest reply on Apr 28, 2016 10:32 AM by roscoeheather

Should I resize pictures before putting in Indesign

roscoeheather

Hey everyone,

I'm new to InDesign. I am creating a catalog for my company and we have over 300 pictures that I have to put in it. This is my 3rd year making the catalog. The first year, I did not re-size any of the images before putting it in the catalog. Instead I re-sized it in the program itself. That resulted in taking forever when I loaded it everyday to work on it. Also, the pdf file was super large. The second year, I re-sized all the images to the frame that I was using and that was a lot better (still slow loading but not as bad).

What would you recommend for InDesign? Should I re-size all the pictures to the frame that I will be using or can I enter the picture into the frame and size it from there?

Thanks for you help!

Heather

• 1. Re: Should I resize pictures before putting in Indesign
          Derek Cross Level 6

Personally I'd resize them in Photoshop to roughly the size and resolution you want them into be in inDesign allowing for some enlargement if required, and place them as hi res JPGs (unless you need some transparency).

• 2. Re: Should I resize pictures before putting in Indesign
            BarbBinder Adobe Community Professional

I'm with Derek. I think it is quicker to pre-size and/or crop in Photoshop before you head over into InDesign. Here's a bonus... if cropping isn't necessary, you can record an Action to set the size and resolution for all of the images. It doesn't get any quicker than that... once you batch process them, and you get to InDesign, it's just a drop and go. And you can load multiple images in InDesign with Shift+clicking (i.e., all the images for a given spread) and just click, click, click to place them.

What are you going to do with all this free time?

• 3. Re: Should I resize pictures before putting in Indesign
              Derek Cross Level 6