13 Replies Latest reply on Apr 23, 2016 8:39 PM by whsprague

Lightroom Panorama question

dj_paige Level 9

I have never done a Panorama photo before, however, I have a question, more about camera technique than about Lightroom itself.

Let's say I'm standing in front of a very wide building, and I can see I'm going to need three shots left to right to capture the entire building (I understand that the shots ought to overlap by about 30%)

So which of these is the proper camera technique?

1. Standing still in front of the middle portion of the building, take three pictures left to right of the building
      2. Take the first picture standing in front of the left part of the building; then walk to the center of the building for the second picture; then walk to the right side of the building and take the third picture
        • 1. Re: Lightroom Panorama question
          whsprague Level 4

I've only used the standing in one spot method and been shooting distant landscapes.  In either method you are creating an image that is beyond what the eye sees when you are holding your head still.  That means there will be "distortion" of reality.   In processing, you can choose distortion corrections that please your mind's eye. 

That said, I'm going to have to try your second method on the condo building I live in.  It should be interesting!

• 2. Re: Lightroom Panorama question
            dj_paige Level 9

Let me know how it turns out, thanks

• 3. Re: Lightroom Panorama question
              druss PI Level 1

Only your number one choice will work. When you change locations, LR or Photoshop will find too many things that are different to make a decent panorama. Keep the camera on a tripod when you take the pictures for the pano. Strange as it may seem, the pano will give you more information if it is shot vertically for most horizontal pictures.

• 4. Re: Lightroom Panorama question
                JoeKostoss Adobe Community Professional