11 Replies Latest reply on Apr 26, 2016 1:17 PM by tim_colton

moving text frame off page causes text to disappear

tim_colton Level 1

I'm running InDesign CC release 2015.3 in MacOS 10.10.5. When I generate a table of contents in a box on the pasteboard, no text appears and the frame shows the overset marker, even though the box is more than large enough to hold the table. Story editor shows the text is there. None of the styles involved has the keep with attribute turned on. The ignore text wrap box is checked. I can see no reason that the text shouldn't display. But, when any part of the box is moved inside the page boundary, the text reappears. I've used Quark for more than 25 years, but I'm fairly new to InDesign. I've never encountered anything like this before. What's going on?

• 1. Re: moving text frame off page causes text to disappear
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Please post some screen shots.

• 2. Re: moving text frame off page causes text to disappear
            BarbBinder Adobe Community Professional

As you suspected, that sort of behavior often stems from text wrap settings. Are you using text wrap elsewhere on the spread? A test could be:

1. Navigate to the spread where you want to put the TOC
            2. Selection tool
            3. Edit > Select all
            4. Window > Text Wrap and click the first button on the top row to turn it off of everything on the spread (and pasteboard behind the spread)
              InDesign CCss_034.png
            5. Drag the TOC around and see if that takes care of it.

If that fixes it, you can select the objects where you intended to use text wrap and turn it back on and see if you can figure out the culprit. Some of the text wrap options are less than intuitive, plus if you turn it on without a selection, it becomes the default for new objects.