9 Replies Latest reply on Mar 23, 2017 10:37 AM by openskies2009

MacBook Finder tags and LR

Karenthenewbie

Good morning,

I am VERY new to LR.  I've had 3 for a long time but life got in the way of learning it.  I'm hoping to upgrade to 6, but before I do I wanted to know about tags.  I have a rather large amount of pictures and most are tagged in finder in one way or another. 

I hope my question is a simple enough one..............................will the tags I've allocated on my mbp be kept when imported into LR?

• 1. Re: MacBook Finder tags and LR
          99jon Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Are you referring to the color labels in Finder to which you may or may not have assigned a category word. Or are you referring to keywords which also display in iPhotos or the new OSX Photos app?

If the latter, it’s probably safest to export versions from the photo app to the desktop with IPTC metadata embedded and then import those copies into Lightroom.

• 2. Re: MacBook Finder tags and LR
            Conrad C Adobe Community Professional & MVP

hermindseye wrote:

I have a rather large amount of pictures and most are tagged in finder in one way or another.

I hope my question is a simple enough one...will the tags I've allocated on my mbp be kept when imported into LR?

Lightroom recognizes photo keywords that adhere to the IPTC industry standard that works across many photo applications from different companies. Unfortunately, Finder tags don't use that standard, they're a special format that only works in the Finder (as far as I know), so Finder tags won't be imported into Lightroom. I don't know of an application other than the Finder that recognizes Finder tags.