6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 28, 2016 11:42 PM by ShakeWell

Premiere Elements 10 going extremely slowly on ONE PROJECT

ShakeWell

I'm about at the end of my rope here, so I'm hoping someone can help. I've been running Premiere Elements 10 on my laptop for a few years now, and the project I'm working on is so bogged down, I can't do anything, but there's nothing about this project that I can suss out that explains why.

My laptop is a Dell XPS, i7-2630QM processor, Windows 7 (64-bit), 6GB of RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GT 550M.

I've never had a problem in the past. And, in fact, if I open old projects, I don't have a problem now. It's just the project I'm working on. If I move a clip, resize a clip, add a matte to a clip, anything, the system bogs down for anywhere from 30 seconds to several minutes. If I play the timeline, it will go for a minute, then the preview will stop with the audio continuing and I won't be able to stop it or do anything else.

Initially, I thought it was because one clip in the bin was a four hour 1080p gameplay clip, so I went into my capture card software and broke it up into four hour long clips, which is in line with what I've had in past projects. Didn't correct it. I saw some folks saying that still images (PNGs, JPGs, etc) can cause trouble, so I removed most of the still frames. Didn't help. Something about this project is making it not run, but I'm running out of ideas on where to look. Past projects that still work fine when I load them up have roughly the same amount of footage, but they're not bogging down like this. Does anyone have any idea what I should be looking for? Certain things about certain clips or files in the project bin? Anything? Settings?

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Premiere Elements 10 going extremely slowly on ONE PROJECT
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional