9 Replies Latest reply on May 3, 2006 8:10 PM by kglad

loading external jpeg

hushhurt Level 1
      hello, i am new to actionscript, so please bear with me. I am trying to load an external jpeg list and having issues. here is the code:

i am not sure what the issue is - the first slide displays fine, but everytime i click the next button, it just flashes and shows the first slide again.

help!

david
        • 1. Re: loading external jpeg
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          what's trace(slideInfoLV.totalFrames) in your nextSlideBtn reveal?
          • 2. Re: loading external jpeg
            hushhurt Level 1
            it says it is undefind.
            i checked the text file, which is in the "vars" folder that is in the same folder as the swf file - and it states "totalFrames=10"

i'm still stuck here.
            • 3. Re: loading external jpeg
              use an onLoad handler to see if your text file is loading.
              • 4. Re: loading external jpeg
                hushhurt Level 1
                ok - so i did an onLoad handler: slideInfoLV.onLoad = handleLoad;
                function handleLoad (success) {
                if (success) {
                trace ("loaded info");
                }
                else {
                trace ("not loaded info")
                }
                }
                handleLoad();

and it traced "not loaded info"
                i have the vars folder in the same directory as my published .swf file.
                i had this problem earilier with an external css style sheet - is it my comp?
                • 5. Re: loading external jpeg
                  is your html file in the same directory as your swf file?
                  • 6. Re: loading external jpeg
                    hushhurt Level 1
                    ok - this is the last stab i'm gonna have at it. everything is in the same directory as my swf file.