3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 30, 2016 10:25 AM by Cathleen24

CS6 Master Page Items Shifting When Deleting a Page

Cathleen24 Level 1

I'm a long-time Indesign user who does long-documents (textbooks). I'm sure in the past I didn't have this problem, but now, no matter what I do, when deleting a single page the headers/footers shift. The pages have been designed using Master Facing Pages. 

I've tried so many things, liquid page layout, enable layout adjustment, guides, etc. I've deleted preferences, tried locking the individual layers, and nothing seems to work. I'll admit, I'm not an expert with Liquid Layout and wonder if that is the source of my problems. Or whether that isn't an solution as I'm not changing the size or column widths, just deleting a page.

The projects I'm working on have 100+ pages in a file so this driving me nuts. I've searched and can't seem to find an answer. On the Master Page I have to change the header text to match the contents, so I just override that text frame and change. Yes, I know once I override it, it no longer is controlled by the master page, but these haven't been overrided yet.

If anyone has any suggestions or links to solutions, I would greatly appreciate it.

I have screen caps of before, after, and the Master Page setup.

Before deleting a page:

Before Deleting.jpg

After deleting a page:

After Deleting.jpg

Master Page setup:

Master Pages.jpg

• 1. Re: CS6 Master Page Items Shifting When Deleting a Page
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Liquid Layout has no purpose for a printed book and might be the source of your problem, as could be using the Page tool, but it's also possible you've run up against a bug I've seen reported a few times. I believe grouping the objects is a workaround for that bug, but it looks like you've already done that, or perahps this master is based on another so I'm not sure what the solution is here. What OS are you using? Is CS6 fully patched to 8.0.2?