0 Replies Latest reply on Apr 29, 2016 7:09 AM by wmolina62682

Confused about EchoSign and internal API

wmolina62682

So let me preface this by saying I am totally new to EchoSign.  I have been given a .NET project to create an API around it for our internal systems.  I have begun to do some research on the REST API (which is the one we want to use) and OAuth as I'm not familiar with that either.  I'm more than a little confused about it and have a few concerns:

* This is for an internal API/middleware tier, it may or may not be called from a webpage (it will be, but I was told to make it reusable for other services as well) so there isn't always a "redirect URL" when I try to get an OAuth token, so I'm not sure if I should just provide a "dummy" value there or what, or if I need to pass this part off to the web development team to implement instead (more on this below).

* I'm confused on the user account thing (re: OAuth authorization), since the way this project was explained to me there are not multiple user accounts and it seems like every request needs to ask for authorization first before getting a token?  That doesn't seem to be a one-time thing to authorize "MyApp" to do, for example, agreement_read, agreement_write, agreement_send scopes.  Maybe it's the terminology but I am familiar with APIs where you authorize a single application to do certain things, and then do not need to continually authorize it because it's already authorized to do that.