3 Replies Latest reply on May 3, 2016 10:55 AM by Laubender

parent and child master pages of different sizes

chandasz Level 1

I have a parent master where headers/footers reside on an 8.5x11 portrait page.

Creating a new child master that is landscape 8.5x11 that I want the same headers and footers on but they will obviously be in a different place.

I don't want my client to have to change headers/footers more than one place in the document-- just on the parent master page.

How can I move the text frame from the parent master on the child master without overriding the content?

I was trying to do this in text variables but it didn't work either.

Is this possible?

• 1. Re: parent and child master pages of different sizes
          Laubender Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Can you show us the layout for the portrait page and the landscape page with two screen captures where hidden characters and frame edges are showing? Place the screen captures as inline graphics using the controls of the forum:

CameraIcon-ForumControls-AddScreenGrabs.png

Regards,

Uwe

• 2. Re: parent and child master pages of different sizes
            chandasz Level 1

This is the portrait page with the headers and footers

Capture1.JPG

and this is the page that is landscape that I want the headers and footers in the same relative location to the margins. I also want to be able to do this with a tabloid landscape page. I'd like my client to only have to change the header and footer text on the portrait master page and have it picked up on the 8.5x11 landscape and the tabloid landscape page....

Capture2.JPG

• 3. Re: parent and child master pages of different sizes
              Laubender Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You could do this by using two different master spreads.

Let's start with the header to keep it simple:

Add one single header to the left page (PM-Left) of the portrait master (PM)

1. Use the Content Place Tool to add the header to the conveyor belt.