8 Replies Latest reply on May 2, 2016 6:49 AM by Rick Gerard

How do I get the light tool to light up more than one object?

Hugh_Jass

Hello,

I'm a graphic design student using After Effects for the very first time, and running into lots of trouble. I'm creating a sort of first person "video game," in which the "player" has to navigate through corridors using a flashlight. I managed to work out how to attach the light to the camera, and move them both around my set, but the light only highlights the back wall, and nothing else. As this is not how flashlights work in the real world, I'm getting very frustrated, because it looks awful. Also, I have a deadline to keep, so it's urgent I figure this out ASAP!!!

I was searching through the forums and someone had a similar problem, but the answer proposed (to increase the light transmission on the walls etc.) did not make one iota of difference.

Screen Shot 2016-04-30 at 15.09.41.png

This is what I mean, because I know I'm not describing it well. But, as you can see, the light just completely cuts off the floor, ceiling, and surrounding walls.

If someone could please help me fix this, I would forever be in your debt!

Thank you!

• 1. Re: How do I get the light tool to light up more than one object?
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

Your light is a spotlight beaming in directly from behind the camera. Naturally, directed light will only affect what intersects the light cone. Change it to a point light and/or add more lights, even more so since AE's simplistic shading ever only handles direct illumination. By all means do read the help. This is basic stuff.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: How do I get the light tool to light up more than one object?
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

First you should do a little research on AE's 3D space by typing 3D layers or even just 3D in the Search Help field at the top right corner of AE. There are lots of great community resources.