4 Replies Latest reply on May 2, 2016 8:45 AM by alexh4500

Playback Quality

alexh4500

Hi all...newbie to the forum here.

I've been using Premier Elements for a few years now - I mainly do home-movie style music videos. I've just started a new project and have recorded the video in the same way I always have done. But this time, there's a noticeable drop in playback quality. Difficult to describe but it's basically far from an HD quality picture. Nothing wrong with the camera; I've played back the footage on my computer via MSN media player and it's fine. BUt on Premier Elements it's really poor. I've tried reducing the file size to a number of small clips instead of the whole 4 minutes of the song in question...still no improvement. Basically, I've done nothing different to the way I've recorded and uploaded for years but all of a sudden the quality has dropped.

Any ideas?? Appreciate your help....

• 1. Re: Playback Quality
          whsprague Level 4

What version and what computer?  What camera? Are you talking about preview quality during editing or quality of the final rendered output?

• 2. Re: Playback Quality
            alexh4500 Level 1

Hi...thanks for the reply! Premier Elements 12; camera is a SonyHDR PJ220. OK it's not the best camera in the world but it's been perfectly acceptable until now, so this is a new problem. The problem is obvious during editing but I regularly "render" during editing. But one thing I have just noticed is from a previous video (which I burned to DVD) in which I used some captions...which were basically a black screen with white captions, and they're a bit fuzzy with slightly detectable horizontal lines.

I'm just wondering if I've just got too many files in Premier Elements (ie ALL my videos) and it's just cluttered it up. As I say, when I play my vids back through MSN movie maker, the picture is absolutely fine.

• 3. Re: Playback Quality
              whsprague Level 4