7 Replies Latest reply on May 4, 2006 1:16 PM by ColoradoSteve

Loading JPG into a specific layer

ColoradoSteve
      I'm a Flash beginner, so I apologize if this question is silly...

I created a movie clip with several layers. Some of the layers have images that I dragged onto the stage from my library of symbols.

My top layer "Actions" contains all my ActionScript code. in this layer I am creating an empty movie clip using the createEmptyMovieClip() method and then attempting to load a JPG using the loadMovie() method. I want the JPG to appear "behind" other images in the movie clip (i.e a lower layer). I'm assuming that I should accomplish this by passing a certain depth in the createEmptyMovieClip() method.

However, no matter what value I seem to pass to createEmptyMovieClip(), the JPG appears "in front" of all other layers. otherwise it's working fine.

Although there is a lot of doco about the methods, i can find very little description about how "depth" works. My understanding is that a higher depth value means the movie clip will be created on a higher layer (more "in front"), but I can't seem to use this value to affect where the image ends up when loaded.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. I have developed a work around, but I'd really liked to understand how this is supposed to work.

Thanks so much!

Steve

• 1. Re: Loading JPG into a specific layer
          nice multimedia
          the easiest method I know of is to place a .jpg in a movie and publish it as a .swf then the loadmovie command will work.
          • 2. Re: Loading JPG into a specific layer
            nice multimedia Level 1
            one more thing ...if you make the movie that the .jpg is placed the same size as the movie it is loading into, then you can place the .jpg where you want it to appear and it will register that position when loaded.
            • 3. Re: Loading JPG into a specific layer
              TimSymons Level 1