2 Replies Latest reply on May 5, 2016 11:08 AM by Rick Gerard

Flowing hair

ernestserrano1966 Level 1

I'm new to After Effects so please bare with me.

I have a question regarding effects work. I'm working on a horror film where I need to animate someone's long hair to move like tentacles or flow like water. I have two editing platforms Adobe After Effects/Premiere and Hitfilm 4 Pro. I have only limited experience in both programs but I'm a fast learner. I really need help in this so any information is welcome. Example of effect: in 47 ronin the evil lady that turns into a dragon, the way her hair moves is what I'm looking on doing.

Please help.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Flowing hair
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

That's more than just a matter of mangling an existing photo/ video. Most of that stuff is simply 3D animation blended on top of actual shots and even if it could be done with just compositing using distortion effects, it's nothing you slap together easily, especially since by your own admission you are an inexperienced beginner. If the shot wasn't done suitably e.g. using greenscreen, you simply won't be able to pull it off without it just looking all kinds of awful. This is even more the case, since, to put it mildly, AE's stock distortion effects are seriously limited. That's the simple harsh truth. In any case, without seeing your shot or a better idea of what you want to achieve nobody can advise specifically. There may be some ways to do it, but whatever you are after, be prepared that it's going to take a lot of work.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Flowing hair
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP