10 Replies Latest reply on May 16, 2016 7:12 AM by Szalam

About to get the free After Effects 30 trial - basic help making a title screen?

Jason1145

Hello Forum

I'm just a hobbyist user who makes a few video's to publish on Youtube  but I'm looking to increase the professionalism of my video's and it looks like I've found a path to do that but would just like to check a few things first.

I currently use a MacBook Pro with IMovie Maker, I've pretty much exhausted all the special effects, transitions and editing within that programme and then found out about websites where you can download extra video clips, more transitions and overlays to enhance my video's. They also have title clips which is the point of this long winded question.

Great.. I downloaded a lot of these from a site called Video Blocks..... hope it's ok to mention another site here?

However I have got some title clips whereby I need to add my own text into the pre-scripted spaces (" your first text here" - " your second text here" etc) for it to look like a cinematic trailer etc.... but I have been told by that website that these can only be edited using Adobe After Effects.... and this is where I am now.

So... I just found out that Adobe offer a free 30 day trial of their After Effects and am about to sign up for it, will it be a simple affair for me to get to edit these title scenes as I wish?

Sorry if it's a vague question but I am already at the limit of my techy know-how and now this After Effects will be totally new to me, can some one give a basic description of how it would work? ie - Once I've got Adobe After Effects - open it on my MacBook, import my chosen file (title screen thingy) then how would I start editing the pre-scripted text there? -  Do I then need to save it somehow etc?

Ok I've babbled enough I think.

Regards

Jason

• 1. Re: About to get the free After Effects 30 trial - basic help making a title screen?
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP