7 Replies Latest reply on May 8, 2016 5:53 AM by Just Shoot Me

Import using filters

thorseye

I've been traveling for three months. During our trip I continuously backed up photos from my camera to my iPhone (using WiFi). I still kept taking photos with my iPhone as well. All good so far.

Now I'm back home and trying to figure out the best way to import ONE copy of all images into Lightroom. I've already imported the images from the camera's memory cards. I still want to import the images taken with the iPhone though. Here's my problem - the iPhone has got 23 GB worth of images, maybe 90% is duplicates of the ones I already imported from the memory cards. Lightroom does not recognize this as duplicates, unfortunately.

I'm looking for some way to filter out just the images taken with the iPhone in the import dialog. I rather not import 23 GB of data, and then trying to figure out which ones are duplicates myself. I'd be happy to find a way to delete the backup files from my iPhone if there's an easy way to do this. Any help is highly appreciated.

- Jonas

• 1. Re: Import using filters
          dj_paige Level 9

Lightroom, by deafult, should detect the duplicates upon import, and not import them. If it's not detecting the duplicates, perhaps you need to turn on the option under File Handling, check the box next to Don't Import Suspected Duplicates.

• 2. Re: Import using filters
            Jao vdL Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Lightroom is unfortunately exceptionally bad at recognizing duplicates. Even if the files have the same filename, capture date and time it will often not recognize it already has them if you import them from a different source. I am pretty sure this is on purpose to prevent Lightroom from omitting files that only appear to be duplicates. There really is not much you can do about this as you can't filter in the import panel easily.

• 3. Re: Import using filters
              thorseye Level 1