4 Replies Latest reply on May 10, 2016 9:58 AM by madaneerg

After effects and MAC. Making sense of the hundreds and hundreds of pages. Where are we now? (May 2016)

madaneerg

I've read over 200 pages of posts on the topic of AE and MAC. My head is spinning. Most of the critical information seems to be buried in technical information that's over my head.

I'm an artist and use after effects -- I guess in a way that would be the equivalent to using duct tape to fix a leak, but the results have been amazing. So I keep using the duct tape.

I'm at the point where I feel an updated computer (using a 2013 13" macbook with minimal ram) might help speed things up. I'm not doing anything crazy, I'm not in Hollywood, nor am I editing 4k. Just simple 1080 stuff that's pretty basic by benchmark standards and the stuff I've seen.

Can someone please dumb down all this technical info and help me choose an adequate MAC workstation for AE?. I'd love to go PC, but just don't want to deal with relearning an OS - unfortunately I have over 20 years on the MAC and don't think I could keep my sanity if I move to a PC.

Much appreciated for any help and guidance.

• 1. Re: After effects and MAC. Making sense of the hundreds and hundreds of pages. Where are we now? (May 2016)
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP