9 Replies Latest reply on May 22, 2016 10:56 PM by 99jon

Lightroom not synchronizing

norphoto Level 1

Hi

Lightroom 6.5.1

Windows 10

Photo archive: Locally connected Synology NAS

Mailly RAW Canon files and some video

I am new to lightroom so there might be something I don't understand, but when I add photos to my folders manually or manually edit the folder names in windows explorer Lightroom will not synchronizer and update them. Even after synchronizing a parent folder the subsolders which I have added photos to is not updated. Even if I synchronize the subfolder directly(which also have subsubfolders like "Favorites") is does not include all photos in that folder.

I have 250 photos in a folder and Lightroom only sees 219 of them.

The folder holds 117 CR2 files, 136 jpg files and 24 movie clips. The folder also has 3 subfolders which also has photos.

Can anyone help me?

• 1. Re: Lightroom not synchronizing
          99jon Adobe Community Professional & MVP

It’s best to avoid re-naming or moving outside of LR otherwise you break the catalog links. Remember that LR does not physically hold photos. It simply references the files on your hard drive or NAS.

So rather than use sync, which is only intended for importing new files you need to right-click on the folder name in the Library and choose “Update Folder Location”

Then navigate to the newly named folder and select it. LR will repair the links. Then try the sync folder.

• 2. Re: Lightroom not synchronizing
            norphoto Level 1

Ok, but for example I import photos from my camera to a folder in my archive and then I have to sort the photos in the correct topic folder and give the new folders a name ex. "2016_05_sunday hike". There might be 5-10 different new folder names created from each photo dump and the naming and moving of photos is much more convenient to do in explorer.