4 Replies Latest reply on May 17, 2016 11:18 AM by Rick Gerard

Zoom and track a UHD sequence?

walterj8635237

I'm pretty new to this sort of editing, although I have a pretty good basic level of understanding of simple PrP editing and workflow.  I have a UHD sequence that is quite long (about an hour, lecture material) and there is generally more field of view than necessary.  Ideally, I'm looking to take about a 2880x1620 crop of what I have and follow the speaker, then output to 1080.  I get how to track the speaker (at least I think I do), then I thought to apply the track motion to a new composition that is the appropriate size.  However, it seems you can't anchor a composition window to the track motion data, so I'm guessing my idea for how to do this isn't the typical workflow?

I tried searching for something similar but all of the examples are for something different, so I must not even have the correct words for this process.  Any help is obviously much appreciated!

• 1. Re: Zoom and track a UHD sequence?
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

Use the classical tracker in stabilization mode and pre-compose the result to a target-sized comp.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Zoom and track a UHD sequence?
            Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The problem with tracking the speaker is that you're likely to get a fairly jittery move. It might be better to put a few keyframes here and there yourself to keep them in the shot instead of trying to track the whole hour.

You can apply tracking or stabilization information to null objects and then tie other things to them. For example, you could copy a null object with your tracking data into a 1080 comp. Tie another null object's position to that one with expressions subtracting the values. (Basically, value - pick whipped null object's position). Then parent your UHD composition to that second null.