1 Reply Latest reply on May 20, 2016 3:37 AM by kerrishotts

Windows Application using PhoneGap

anandp71065094

Hi,

I am new to PhoneGap or rather say new to Hybrid Mobile Application. I just want to know the following things

1) Is it mandatory to have Windows Operating System for developing Windows 8 Mobile application by using PhoneGap or any OS(like Linux, Mac etc.) will work?

2) Only Microsoft Visual Studio is required as IDE for development of the Mobile Application or any other IDE( Android Studio, Eclipse etc.) will work.

3) If Windows OS is not required then how to create , build, and run the Windows Mobile Application in Linux (Ubuntu).

Thanks and Regards,

Anand

• 1. Re: Windows Application using PhoneGap
          kerrishotts Adobe Community Professional

1) Is it mandatory to have Windows Operating System for developing Windows 8 Mobile application by using PhoneGap or any OS(like Linux, Mac etc.) will work?

PhoneGap Build doesn't care what operating system you're using to create your app. PGB will need to know how to sign your app, so be sure to review http://docs.build.phonegap.com/en_US/signing_signing-windows.md.html#Windows%20Signing

2) Only Microsoft Visual Studio is required as IDE for development of the Mobile Application or any other IDE( Android Studio, Eclipse etc.) will work.

Since your app will be HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, the IDE you use is largely immaterial. It depends on which editors you feel most comfortable using. I use a combination of VIM and Visual Studio Code. But I've used many others in the past, and in the worst case, you can alway use notepad or the like.

3) If Windows OS is not required then how to create , build, and run the Windows Mobile Application in Linux (Ubuntu).

You will: