4 Replies Latest reply on May 30, 2006 9:13 AM by Mr.Lemur

preloader snag

total noob here...

I'm trying to create a preloader animation by having the movie loop on the first two frames until getBytesLoaded() == getBytesTotal(). The problem is I have a very large sound file that's linked to "Export for Actionscript". Now by default the the "Export in First Frame" option is checked and, as I understand it, this will prevent my two-framed loader animation from showing, because the first frame doesn't start until AFTER the sounds are loaded.

The problem is, if I uncheck the "Export in First Frame" option, my sounds disappear completely and don't get compiled with the .swf file... why is that?

I know this is just a stupid newbie thing and the answer is probably very simple, but it's driving me crazy and any help would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: preloader snag
          yachts99-2vTvY1 Level 2
          You need to specify a new frame to export you sound in. As you have unchecked the "Export in First Frame" option your sound is now not being exported at all. Go to File ->Publish Settings -> Flash (tab) -> Settings (button) and set the frame to export your sound. I would suggest frame 3 as you have a two frame loader.
          • 2. Re: preloader snag
            hogsmeade Level 1
            thanks for the reply yachts99.

The closest thing I can find under publish settings > flash > settings button that sounds like what you're saying is an option that says "Export frame for classes", nothing about sounds. I tried setting that one to 3 but it still forgets to load my sounds.

Forgot to mention that I'm using Flash 8, if that makes a difference.