18 Replies Latest reply on May 24, 2016 7:38 AM by AnnieVE

Color Space vs Monitor's capability

AnnieVE

Hi!

As an acrylic artist I normally LOVE working with color, but right now it's making my head spin...

According to Lr documentation Lightroom displays color using ProPhoto RGB and Adobe RGB color spaces.  And...  "Lightroom simplifies color management by displaying colors using device-independent color spaces".

But if my MacBook Pro monitor (2015) only uses sRGB, how can it possibly display the colors that are in the larger gamut ProPhoto RGB and Adobe RGB?  My computer wouldn't even be able to display those colors at all, right?  If my monitor CAN display a wider range, why does it use sRGB? 

Is that why, when I soft-proof in Lightroom for the web (using sRGB profile) it shows up a bunch of the area in blue gamut warning?  Maybe it never did it correctly to begin with?

Also, just a head check:

If I create a color profile for my monitor using Spyder5Pro calibrator does the subsequent calibrated profile tell  my MacBook Pro how to map the image's color using my monitor's color space, i.e. sRGB? 

From there, I logically think that my editing software (i.e. Lightroom) should use the same color space mapping that my monitor does, so that I can be sure that my edits are actual and accurate.
      I'm probably being totally lame about this, but I have done so much reading on it, and it is hard to tie all this information together.

Thank you for your help!

Anne

• 1. Re: Color Space vs Monitor's capability
          dj_paige Level 9

Your monitor will not display colors that are wider than the monitor's color space. The calculations done by Lightroom in ProPhoto RGB are retained in ProPhoto's wider color space, so that if at some time in the future you are using a display device that has a wider color space than RGB, it will show the full colors of your photo.