4 Replies Latest reply on May 25, 2016 11:02 AM by Rick Gerard

Illustrator Layers to frame in After Effects? Premiere Pro?

hansc62441149

I'm wondering how to use layers in an illustrator file as frames. If that is possible.

You see; my training is in Photoshop, Illustrator, etc. and this is my first project that involves any video. Looking at the project, I think the simplest solution would be to take an illustrator file, and turn on and off certain layers for a certain number of frames to create a primitive looking animation (it's suppose to look choppy and mostly stationary). Unfortunately, there doesn't seam to be any tutorial that shows me how to do that.

I kind of figured out how to do that in Premiere Pro, but I needed completely different files for each image, which seamed like a waste to me. I saw that there was a way to import Illustrator composite files in After Effects, but I haven't figured out how do that kind of transition. And even if I did, I don't see a playback button on the After Effects platform. Would I need to create it in After effects, then import it into Premiere? if so, How would I do that?

I really have no idea how I should be approaching this. I'm also open to the possibility that I may be using the wrong programs.

I'm sure this is all very obvious to anyone who uses these platforms regularly. But I have a deadline and no assistence (long story), and anyone would like to explain this to me or direct me to a tutorial I missed, it would be appreicated.

• 1. Re: Illustrator Layers to frame in After Effects? Premiere Pro?
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

I don't see a playback button on the After Effects platform.