7 Replies Latest reply on May 31, 2016 12:12 PM by UQg

Dynamic Link

UQg Level 4

Hi there.

i have a CC subscription for AE only.

My Dynamic Link manager is broken, and I have attempted to solve it by reinstalling every single Adobe app on my pc (After Effects, but also, Cloud, AME, ESTK, etc, and even Flash player...).

I did it, i think, the right way: uninstall all, restart pc, run Adobe cleaner, restart pc again, then reinstall Cloud, AE, AME, etc.

Still broken.

What i observe:

• If i send a comp from AE to AME using the menu command  "Add To Adobe Media Encode Queue...", if not running yet, AME is launched, but the comp is not added (no warning...).
      • If i click + drag the comp from the AE 'Project' panel to the AME 'Queue' panel, the comp is added to the AME queue, but when i attempt to encode it within AME, the "Connecting to Dynamic Link server..." animation plays for ever and nothing else happens.
      • The same annoying animation plays forever when trying to add an ae comp to AME from within AME (File>Add After Effects Composition).

By annoying, i mean that there could be at least a beggining of a clue to tell why a connection can't be made.

There are dozens of topics on the net on the same matter, many with dirty cooking solutions, trying this and that in complete darkness.

It could be nice if the page https://helpx.adobe.com/after-effects/using/dynamic-link-effects.html contained a section about Resolving Dynamic link issues, especially gathering solutions that have proved to work.

Three other things that might be of interest:

1. In After Effects, File > Adobe Dynamic Link is greyed out.
      2. In the process tree (task manager), there is Adobe QT32 Server.exe *32, dynamiclinkmanager.exe *32, but no dynamiclinkmediaserver.exe
      3. My newly installed files (AE support files) all show a "last modified date" from december 2014... does this mean that the installer has digged out the old files instead of the just downloaded ones ??