7 Replies Latest reply on May 28, 2006 11:01 PM by matecito

Draggin' and Droppin...

matecito
      Warning: I'm still learning! If there are better ways to do this from the ground up - set me straight!

I built a chess board in flash. Each square is represented by an array address...

I am trying to drag and drop pieces. They drag - but they don't drop. Can someone give me a clue? Is this where I should be using EventListeners instead?
        • 1. Re: Draggin' and Droppin...
          NSurveyor Level 2
          You aren't dragging the chess square, but the created piece. Therefore, you aren't "releasing" the chess square. Here's a work around:

• 2. Re: Draggin' and Droppin...
            NSurveyor Level 2
            It just occurred to me that you can use:

arr[0][0].onRelease = arr[0][0].onReleaseOutside = function(){stopDrag()};

onRelease only happens when you press on something, and then release still on top of it. onReleaseOutside is same, but when you move the mouse off the clip before releasing.
            • 3. Re: Draggin' and Droppin...
              matecito Level 1
              Well,

I tried both of these suggestions and neither one worked. The new piece follows my mouse around - never letting me drop it.

But thanks for the attempt. Maybe you need more info?

These are buttons... would that make any difference?
              • 4. Re: Draggin' and Droppin...
                NSurveyor Level 2
                Use _root.getNextHighestDepth(); inside the onPress handler. Also, if you drag again on the blackrooklight clip, more pieces are going to be created but only the first one will be dragged as you aren't using a unique name. Try:

_global.draggable = _root.attachMovie("gbRook","gbRook"+_root.getNextHighestDepth(),_root.getNextHighestDepth ());
                • 5. Re: Draggin' and Droppin...
                  NSurveyor Level 2
                  By the way, use