14 Replies Latest reply on May 26, 2016 12:49 AM by bradl50095807

Help with making it look night through the window

bradl50095807 Level 1

http://imgur.com/UxWt9o5 

This is a screenshot from a scene i'm editing.

I need help to make it look like it is night time which means making it look dark through the window. I have tried various thing but im fairly new to after effects

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thank you.

• 1. Re: Help with making it look night through the window
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Some folks (such as myself) can't access Imgur due to restrictions on the network where we work. If you upload your image directly to the forum (there's a picture icon right above the text box where you type your reply that lets you insert images), we can see those and offer help.

• 2. Re: Help with making it look night through the window
            squidkings Level 1

Easiest would be to shoot with same angle and focal length at night and mask and insert footage. Second easiest would be search day for night and pick one or try several. Most of the day for night,  the exposure it the critical aspect to get best results. If its a low budget affair you may consider just blanking out the window with black if nothing important is going on out there.

• 3. Re: Help with making it look night through the window
              bradl50095807 Level 1

My bad, i didnt know. Here is the image...Screenshot_6.png

• 4. Re: Help with making it look night through the window
                Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Any chance you could reshoot with something covering that window (or shoot at night)?

That's going to be really tough to get it to look right.

Do we need to see what's happening outside the window or do you just want it to seem like night time?