6 Replies Latest reply on May 30, 2016 2:34 PM by romainc92869029

3D camera tracking on lower resolution

romainc92869029 Level 1

Hello !

First thank you for this wonderful software : )

I'm a beginner.

When I apply the 3D camera tracker to a 3 minutes 1080p video - handheld shot, so a bit shaky - in my example i shot a simple soccer goal-frame without moving too much, 2 steps or so, around my initial position, note that the background consists of trees and plants with some wind,

on my new laptop (quad core i7, 16GB of ram),

the computation is very long (about 45min) and gets stuck on "Camera solving".

When I apply the tracker on a 1 minute extract, it's about 15minutes of calculation and it works.

My question : because in the near future i want to apply this tracker on longer videos (about 5 minutes or more), i'm looking for a method that could get it work !

Is it realistic to you ?

Here's a small thing I tried : I used Handbrake to output a lower resolution of the original video (700p width), and applied the tracker on it.

It worked and the calculation is faster. I derived a solid from some tracked points I chose. It works well in this 700p video.

But, from this, how could i get this solid well in the original 1080p video ? I tried to copy&paste the solid in the 1080p video but the tracking isnot good anymore.

Thank you very much, your help is much appreciated : )

Romain

• 1. Re: 3D camera tracking on lower resolution
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Your newness is showing. Try this next time you watch a movie or a tv show. Count the number of seconds between cuts. 90% of everything I work on in After Effects is under 10 seconds. Sticking on a single shot for 5 minutes will loose your audience.

What you want to do is pre-edit your stuff and only process the shots you are going to actually use.