9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 9, 2017 1:59 PM by ERA2000

Lightroom Trial Version Time Limit

Jim_Palik Level 1

Hello,

I am a photography teacher and I teach Lightroom as one of my class modules. I was recently told that Lightroom now has only a 7 day trial period. Is that right and when did/does it start.

I look forward to your answer.

Jim

• 2. Re: Lightroom Trial Version Time Limit
          99jon Adobe Community Professional & MVP

All of the Creative Cloud applications now have 7 day trials, based upon Adobe's take-up research.

The LR trial is only availabe from Creative Cloud although the stand alone product can be purchased subesquently.

The 7 days start from first use. There is normally a button to click after download "Start Trial" and the product expires one week from that moment.

• 3. Re: Lightroom Trial Version Time Limit
            Jim_Palik Level 1

Hello Akash

I am a photography teacher at the Stuttgart Media University (Hochschule der Medien) in Stuttgart Germany. I teach Lightroom 30 days before student final projects are due. I have done this for years. This gave students time to use Lightroom to do their final projects without having to buy a copy. Of course, the students who will continue with still photography after my class will buy a student copy after the trial period. Those students that only need Lightroom for their final projects and never intend to do still photography after the class is over of course do not convert. The new trial policy makes it impossible for students to take advantage of the trial to do their projects an makes my teaching Lightroom as the right raw processing solution difficult.

Is there any way to get some sort of waiver to this new policy for students. This new policy puts my current class in a real bind. This Thursday's lecture is the Lightroom module and final projects for 70 students are due on June 30.

I look forward to your answer and any suggestions you may have.

Jim Palik