1 Reply Latest reply on Jun 8, 2016 9:16 PM by Rajashree Bhattacharya

Adobe, Please make a better floating licensing scheme

tobiwon Level 1

I write this post because the current licensing scheme for Creative Cloud is problematic for me, and probably for others in my situation. I am hoping that as a result of this post Adobe will consider some more flexible options for licensing the CC software.

I have been using Adobe products for over 20 years and I have invested a great deal of time in perfecting my skills and evangelical zeal in promoting Adobe products. I would say at this point I am an expert on many of your pieces of software.

When CC was announced, I went along with the new scheme for stabilizing your revenue stream by making your revenue more predictable. However, for me running a small studio, this has created unwieldy burdens. To be specific, I am a solo illustrator/animator and as such, I run a lot of 3-D and special effects software which frequently demand the horsepower of several machines to render frames or calculate complex effects simulations. I use four machines, three desktop machines and a laptop. In my work, I am constantly bouncing around between the three machines which are often humming away on their own, rendering frames or calculating fluid flows, etc.(my ghost employees,) When one is free I will move to that one to do some creative work often using one or more of your products (my go-to Adobe products are Photoshop and Illustrator each with a gazillion plugins, Premiere, After Effects and InDesign. This is where the licensing scheme that currently exists is problematic: I am constantly having to activate and deactivate machines so that I can move between them. To put it mildly, this is a royal pain.