6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2016 6:24 AM by ssprengel

Lens Profile Correction in Lightroom/Photoshop

ds4208

I'm fairly new to Lightroom and Photoshop, so pardon what may be very novice questions about lens correction.  I've scoured these boards for help but haven't yet found information that has solved the issue exactly.

I'm using Lightroom CC and Photoshop CC (running on a Mac).  I use a Nikon D750 and the lens in question is a Nikkor 24-120 f/4 VRII.  For the JPEGs in question, I had vignette control turned off in camera to avoid double fixing the issue in LR/PS (and really haven't been satisfied with the in-camera correction).

As many other people have asked about, I have some JPEG files that I'd like to apply the lens correction profile in LR, but none exist for that lens in JPEG.  I've tried the steps that many other people have suggested in many forums (i.e., copying the RAW profile that's located in the Library/Application Support/Adobe/Camera Raw/... folder, changing all of the "stCamera:CameraRawProfile="True"" to "False", and then copying the file back to the same folder and restarting).  I tried to locate the new lens profile using LR and also Camera Raw in Photoshop.  I've closed the programs, restarted, but nothing seems to work. 

Because it wasn't working, I got rid of the new lens profile I copied and instead went into Photoshop, using the "Lens Correction" option in the "Filters" menu (but not in Camera Raw because that didn't work).  In the filter, it recognized the lens and allowed me to do the "Vignette" correction.

So my questions are:

1) Does the copy/text-edit method for adapting the RAW lens profile not work for LR CC or is there some other text in the .lcp file that needs to be changed to make it work? Not sure what I'm doing wrong.