5 Replies Latest reply on May 31, 2006 10:28 PM by kglad

Playing one movieclip instance after another

Lordy_UK
      Help!

I’m new to actionscripting and have been stuck on what I imagine as an ‘easy’ yet fundamental problem with flash. I’ve created a simple menu with 4 option buttons. When each one is clicked upon, it will play a movieclip instance to the right of the buttons. There are 4 movieclip instances to the right of the buttons which are all at frame 1 of their timeline where there is a ‘stop’ action. Each instance plays (it constructs a graphic to the right of the buttons) until a ‘stop’ action is encountered half way through (frame 40), the graphic then de-constructs after the stop action (frames 41 to 80). So what I want to happen is that, say, when button 1 is clicked upon, it will deconstruct whatever graphic is currently displayed (play whatever instance is currently displayed - frame 41 onwards), and then after that it will construct the graphic for button 1 (play instance 1 – frames 2 - 40). I have no problem in knowing what is the currently playing movieclip instance (deconstructing the graphic), it’s constructing the graphic AFTER the deconstructing has finished. So, in essence, I want to play 2 movieclip instances ONE AFTER THE OTHER – when one movieclip has finished, then play the next one. The way Flash works, when I play 2 instances, they run concurrently.

Code for clicking on button 1 at present (where buildRHS1 is the instance label for constructing the graphic for button 1, buildRHS2 is the instance label for constructing the graphic for button 2 etc.)

quote:

on (release) {
      if (option == 2) {
      buildRHS2.gotoAndPlay(41);
      } else if (option == 3) {
      buildRHS3.gotoAndPlay(41);
      } else if (option == 4) {
      buildRHS4.gotoAndPlay(41);
      }
      option = 1;
      buildRHS1.gotoAndPlay(2); //I want this to play AFTER buildRHS2 or buildRHS3 or buildRHS4 has finished playing
      }